Going Old School With An Inverted Vee Dipole

I know I’ve had various flavors of Wire Dipoles over the years. At least one of them was an Inverted Vee configuration.

I’ve never had a tower. I’ve had a metallic mast once before, but what was on it was something where all the working parts of the antenna were above the mast.

A few weekends ago, an old ham friend helped me put this Tune-A-Tenna up.

A week later, I managed to get back up on the roof to finish what I’d started. Then over the next week, I began testing things, and it was going OK for a while. Sometimes. But I have run into some trouble that I bet some of you have spotted already. A metal mast inside the Vee is a problem. Not to scale, and extremely low resolution, here’s kind of the problem I’ve arranged for myself.

…And here’s a rough idea of one way to deal with it. In this sketch, the blue lines indicate non-conductive (e.g. PVC) material.

One comment on “Going Old School With An Inverted Vee Dipole

  1. kelvindean says:

    Currently on-the-fence about using a pulley system just for the Tune-A-Tenna (bringing the feed unit down to ground level, along with its cables), or if I’d be better off figuring a way to extend the mast all the way to near-ground-level, and tilt the ENTIRE thing. Hmm.

Leave a comment